We drink apple flavored beer
and I fumble for things to say-
and all I can think is that
it shouldn’t be so hard-
I can talk for hours with relative strangers about the
secrets of the universe or my soul and they have never seen
the naked curve of my hips or
kissed memories into my neck- and it has been
a year of having nothing to say
sitting across each other in restaurants
looking like one of those old couples grown tired of each other-
and I know that in an hour we will
kick off our shoes and I will curl up against your chest and you will lean down and kiss my hair
and it wont bother me so much that we aren’t speaking
but I take a sip of my beer and
ask how your food came out.

“apple flavored beer” -10-19-13- jessicagadziala

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

