he pokes fun at me more than he
calls me beautiful
and ignores me more than he calls
has me help him pick out Halloween costumes
for parties he never invites me to
and he admires women who look
nothing like me-
but sometimes he tells me he wishes I was there
or when I stand up to leave,
grabs me and pulls me back onto the
bed, against his chest and
kisses my hair-
before not speaking to me
for a week.
And every day I promise myself
I am too strong to stand for it anymore
but
I guess hope is my achille’s heel.

“achille’s heel”- 11-1-13- jessicagadziala

2 thoughts on “

Leave a Reply

