I found a poem I had lost years ago
back when the fierceness of new love
was enough to keep even the wolves at
the door at bay-
and suddenly I wish I had written more
back when the warmth of your love was
a blanket I could curl up in to sleep at night-
because I feel like everything
my pen bleeds now is anger and regret
and sadness so deep you could
dive in it
and drown
and like a small child
I don’t quite know how to keep
my head above water.

“Head Above Water”- 11-5-13- JessicaGadziala

Leave a Reply

