Some nights I wake up at
4AM for no reason-
my room dark and quiet but for
my mind screaming with memories
of you-
I watch the hands on the clock
steadily moving time away and reminding
me how long it has been since
I felt myself wrapped in arms
heavy with longing.
And suddenly this bed is too
big- full only with the ghosts
of you and how I used to
lay on your chest- your heartbeat
my lullaby when my brain wouldn’t
let me sleep-
and without it tonight
I lay awake listening to
the traffic on the street
hoping I can eventually
get back to sleep.

“sleepless nights”- 11-6-13- jessicagadziala

Leave a Reply

