11.8.13

He teases me because of all the
things I have never tried-
and I am forever trying
to put books in his hands-
inevitably we both end up feeling resigned-
he is the explorer
and I tend to live inside my mind-
and he swears one day he will
drag me camping
and I promise my backpack will
be full of books and empty paper-
but we always find common ground in our moments
of quiet
when I put down my pen
and he sits still for the first
time all day
and we kiss like the world
is ending-
somehow finding a way to build
a bridge between our differences
and becoming another cliched example
of opposites attracting and
hopefully lasting
because we can appreciate
in each other all the things
we could never be.

“common ground”- 11-8-13- jessicagadziala

Leave a Reply

