Maybe my friends are right-
I am jaded for the sake
of being jaded and perhaps
I shouldn’t boast about
how skilled I have become in
the craft of building walls-
and men don’t seem to know their way
around a sledgehammer anymore-
maybe that’s what all the building was for-
to find someone who wants me
badly enough
to break it all down
satisfaction in feeling all my
barriers tumble to the ground-
but now I spend my nights with
someone who likes his cat more than me-
who doesn’t know how I take my coffee
or that I stay up nights
writing poems of a year of him
not loving me-
and he has a garage full of
blunt instruments
he has never even tried to use
to get closer to me.

“a garage full of blunt instruments” – jessicagadziala

Leave a Reply

