11.8.13.2

I cant see Virginia plates without
it all coming back like a
riptide hellbent on dragging me under-
and it pulls me away from all the
time I have spent trying to forget
when we met
and that first time in the hotel room
I still have to pass by every day
while you are three hundred miles away
from it all-
and I remember all those nights
the uncertainty would keep me from sleep
when I knew someone had more of
your attention and affection than me
despite your denial-
and I know everything I write
attached to your name drips heavy
of bitterness and barely-healed
pain
despite the years in between-
but at the heart of the matter
I think this is about
forgiveness
forgiveness
even if… even if…

“don henley” – 11-8-13

One thought on “11.8.13.2

Leave a Reply

