11.10.13.2

He held my hand in public once-
kissed me to shyness in
a cement and orange aisle of
Home Depot to the chorus of a
loud speaker announcing store closing
and an employee starting to ask
if we needed help before coughing
and walking away.
He bought me flowers
and laughed at my drunken ramblings
right before calling me
beautiful for the first time-
he gave me Valentine candies,
removing the coconut ones he
knew I could hate and replaced
them with caramel-
I swear he knew me better
a year ago than he does now
and he held my hand in public once
and has never tried since.

“he held my hand in public” – 11-10-13- jessicagadziala

Leave a Reply

