1

There have been studies that suggest
sleeping clutching a pillow releases
the same endorphins as falling asleep
with a lover-
and I hope it is true as I feel the
hollow lack of a heartbeat against my ear
as I fall into a restless sleep
and I have a dream where he shows me
more passion in five minutes
than he has in an entire year of knowing
me.
And I know it supposedly takes thirty days
to make (or break) a habit
so if I could just
go a month without falling into his arms
maybe I can finally let this go but
the lure of a chest to sleep on and lips
on my hair is getting harder
to resist than my pride is willing to
admit.

“How To Break A Habit” – 11-24-13-
Jessicagadziala

Leave a Reply

