Winter Is Coming

I count the days he hasn’t called
like other people count kisses
or petals on flowers
and after five days
I guess he loves me not-
(but I swear his chest is the
safest place in the world)
he kept me warm all last winter
and the world is getting
colder again and I am scared
I am going to freeze to death
from the inside out because of
all the coolness I am harboring
toward someone who lets me
spend so many nights with
cold hands and cold feet
and a phone stubbornly staying silent.

“Winter Is Coming”- 12-2-13-jessicagadziala

Leave a Reply

