The Ungrateful Earth

“The Ungrateful Earth”- 1-4-14

I can count the times I have used
the scene of him giving my heart back smashed with a hammer
as a reason
to never let someone else hold my hand on
the Christmas lights I am taking off the tree-
and no matter the fire hazard of thirty strands- I would run out
of colored bulbs before I would run out of
excuses.
And you come along with your
strong hands, good heart, and insufferable patience
and it pushes me beyond the pale-
So I turn away- but forever stuck on this axis-
I find myself pulled back toward your light
because somehow I still need you
I am the ungrateful Earth
You, the radiant Sun
and someday I would hope to be
worthy of the warmth.

-jessicagadziala

One thought on “The Ungrateful Earth

Leave a Reply

