And I’ve Never Been Any Good At Writing Love Poems

“And I’ve Never Been Any Good At Writing Love Poems” – 1-9-14

It takes six kisses to get from your mouth to your ear-
nine, ear to collarbone-
fifteen, collarbone to hipbone
where you are only ticklish when you are overly tired.
And you hold me like a promise
and kiss me like forgiveness-
for constantly pulling away
and keeping my heart in a jar in the pantry just beyond your strong fingers-
for always making you reach for my hand first-
but I swear all I want to do
is lay on your chest- tracing figures on your skin,
stealing your warmth
and waiting for the day I can tell you
that there are sixteen scars on your fingers
and I want to know the story of every last one.

-jessicagadziala 

Leave a Reply

