You Could Try

“You Could Try”- 1-16-14

The only way to my heart is with a knife
and surgical precision
open me up and hurt me-
remind me how I start things and never finish them
(tell me about all the books I haven’t written)
say how I let everyone walk all over me
(and how it has driven me to anxiety medication)
call me fat
(that my thighs touch and my belly isn’t flat and my ass is in desperate need of more lunging)

because I think there is too much
scar tissue to get to it any other way-
but you could try
sending me flowers
you could try
to remind me that hourglasses
are more interesting than stick figures
and I can do anything I set my mind to-

you could try.

-jessicagadziala

Leave a Reply

