Days Off?

So on this second novel, I have written about 56,000 words with little worry… this story has just been flowing out of me. I barely started it two weeks ago and I am more than 2/3rd of the way done.

But today and yesterday, I haven’t been able to get out more than 1,000 words. Part of me feels like I’m entitled to a day or two off, but the other part knows that at any “real” job… I would need to be there and producing work no matter what. I am trying my best to get out of the “artist mindset” and remember that above all else, writing is a profession to me and I cant allow imagined ideas such as “writer’s block” to get in my way.

So in the interest of being a good employee(?) … I am going to sit my butt down at get out a couple thousand words before bed. (Did I mention it’s already after 11:30 at night?) Eek.

Anyone who thinks being a writer is easy is just plain wrong.

4 thoughts on “Days Off?

  1. No one ever said writing was easy. In fact, Thomas Mann once said, “A writer is someone for whom writing is more difficult than it is for other people.” And Tim O’Brien said, “Writing doesn’t get easier with experience. The more you know, the harder it is to write.”

    But it’s admirable that you understand you have to just push through it. Because, as Gloria Steinem famously said, “Writing is the only thing that, when I do it, I don’t feel I should be doing something else.”

    Keep it up.

  2. I think that is a pretty good average. Some days are allot harder than others. Just take your time and keep it going you will finish sooner than you think! I have to tell myself that all the time.

Leave a Reply

